Melbourne’s Rat vs Possum excitedly announce the follow-up release to their 2010 debut ‘Daughter Of Sunshine.’ The new eight track album is entitled ‘Let Music & Bodies Unite’ and was recorded with renowned Japanese engineer Nao Anzai at Headgap Studios and in the bedroom of RvP member Matt Kulesza throughout June and July, 2011. 


To celebrate the release, Rat vs Possum have released the first sounds of the album with debut synth-pop single ‘Fat Monk,’ as a free and/or ‘pay-as-you-feel’ download from their BandCamp page at http://ratvspossum.bandcamp.com/album/fat-monk-single.


With the last year seeing Rat vs Possum play Meredith Music Festival, Laneway Festival, Sugar Mountain and New Zealand’s Camp A Low Hum, hold sold out shows across the country, hit Sydney, Hobart, Adelaide, and Brisbane and regional cities on tours with Aa (USA), Regurgitator and Sleigh Bells (USA) lock in a publishing deal, have their music played on BBC Radio in the UK and be remixed by Faux Pas, Rat vs Possum feel that their dream run has only just begun.



All of these events have played a big part in inspiring the band’s new direction. ‘Let Music & Bodies Unite’ is an intrinsically dance-inspired party album, featuring elements of ‘90’s dance music, post-rock, disco, electronica and unashamed pop music. Gone are the ‘tribal’ group vocals, loop pedals and multiple floor toms; Rat vs Possum in 2011 sees Daphne Shum officially stepping into the roll as lead vocalist against a sea of buzzing and bubbling synthesizers, incessant beats, intricate rhythms, funk-inspired bass lines, and even a piano vamp thrown in for good measure.


‘Let Music & Bodies Unite’ will be released digitally and on 12” vinyl by Sensory Projects in September 2011, with slight differences in both formats. The band’s infamous tropical-inspired version of My Disco’s ‘You Came To Me Like A Cancer Lain Dormant Until It Blossomed Like A Rose’ has finally been recorded and will beavailable as a bonus downloadable track only via the vinyl download card.


‘Let Music & Bodies Unite’ track listing:


1.     LM&BU

2.     Never Die

3.     Fat Monk

4.     Beat Inside You

5.     Home (No)

6.     HDRD

7.     New Pills

8.     You


With the impending release of ‘Let Music & Bodies Unite,’ RvP have been invited to play alongside Bachelorette as part of the Melbourne Festival, LM&BU remixes and music videos are in the works, and of course, a brand new album to bring to the masses. Watch this space!


Check out the ‘Let Music & Bodies Unite’ promotional video including a sneak peek at the album art: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=e9e3P0IVPWo


Follow Rat vs Possum on Twitter: http://twitter.com/ratvspossum

Follow Rat vs Possum on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/ratvspossum

Download music and buy stuff on BandCamp: http://ratvspossum.bandcamp.com/



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: